Plaid Cymru Penarth

 

slide1

 

I just rocked up to my local Plaid Cymru branch meeting.

A few weeks ago I decided I was going to stand for Plaid Cymru in the local elections in May next year. Tonight I went along to the local branch meeting* in Penarth and put myself forward to stand in my ward (St Augustines) for both the Local and Town Council elections.

As a new attendee I was greeted warmly and my contributions made welcome. There were six of us, joined by two more later on. The meeting was well chaired. We followed an agenda, which started with concise minutes and clear actions from the last meeting. The finances were clearly outlined. A recent fund raiser had been a success. Requests were made for nominations. I volunteered, someone proposed me, someone else seconded.

We started to talk tactics, and communications strategies. We talked about door-knocking, and I explained that I would like to get out and about and listen to people’s concerns and hopes for Penarth and St Augustines, so that we can develop a relevant local campaign.

We got excited about the potential for Plaid in Penarth. We had an interesting, stimulating discussion and drank some beer.

It wasn’t a bad way to spend a Tuesday evening. I bet there are similar branch meetings happening all over Wales, just waiting for new people to rock up and join in.

 

*You can join the Penarth Plaid Branch meeting on the first Tuesday of each month at the Albion Arms from 7.30pm (this evening’s meeting was held early for September, because of a Cardiff thing next week)

One thought on “Plaid Cymru Penarth

Leave a Reply

